How to Lock Your Facebook Profile Using Your Android or iPhone Smartphone

With Facebook bringing many new features and settings and privacy regulations, users who have been on the platform for a long time may not be aware of the control they now have over their profiles. One of them is the ability to lock your profile so that other Facebook users cannot interact with your Facebook profile without your permission.

Anyone on Facebook can tag you in photos and share a post on the timeline. However, you can change that. The control is currently missing on the Facebook Desktop page, but you can use the Facebook app or the Facebook mobile page to change this setting.

Step 1: Open Facebook and go to your profile

Open your Facebook profile. (Express photo)

Once you’ve opened Facebook, either on the app or on the page, click on the first icon in the top tab. It’s the timeline button, shaped like a house. Click on your profile picture to open your profile.

Step 2: Lock your profile

Facebook, Facebook profile.  Facebook application, Lock your profile by following this sequence. (Express photo)

Next to the “Add to Story” button, you should see a three-dot menu. Open it and choose Lock Profile on the next screen to lock your profile against your friends’ interactions. A next screen will show you what changes when you lock your profile, including what your friends and strangers can and can’t see. Go ahead and click “OK” to successfully lock your Facebook profile.

Unlocking your profile

If for some reason you want to undo this change in the future, Facebook also allows you to unlock your profile. To do this, go back to your profile as you did in step 1. Open the same three-dot menu as in step 2 and choose “Unlock profile”.