How to Lock Your Facebook Profile on Android and iPhone

As the biggest social network on the planet, Facebook is not a very private place. From photos to names to more personal information such as phone numbers, addresses and email addresses in some cases, everything is available to everyone on the portal. Although the goal is to keep people in touch, it has left gaping privacy holes in the system. Facebook offers a tool that allows these people to lock their Facebook profiles. Locking a profile prevents strangers from seeing information about you, including the About page, photos, stories, and new posts on the timeline. Any “public” updates on a locked profile can only be viewed by those who are friends with the person.

Since locking a profile is something that most users will use, given the lack of privacy in a connected world, let us explain to you step by step how to lock your Facebook profile and get rid of stalkers.

For Android users

Step 1: Open the Facebook application and tap the three-dot menu icon next to “Add to story”

2nd step: Choose the Lock Profile option. It will show instructions on how to lock a profile.

Step 3: A popup will say “You have locked your profile” and it will be done without any problem.

Currently, there is no way to lock profiles on the Facebook iOS app, but it is possible to do so by accessing the web version.

How to lock profile on desktop

Step 1: Go to https://www.facebook.com and click on your profile

2nd step: In the URL, replace “www” with “m” (the URL should be m.facebook.com/profilename). This opens the mobile site on the desktop browser.

Step 3: Next to the Edit your profile button, click on the three dot menu

Step 4: Select Lock Profile and click OK. Now click on the Lock your profile option.

If at some point you want to “unlock” your profile, Facebook allows that too. You must follow the aforementioned steps and select “unlock your profile”, in case you choose to do so.

Read all the latest Ukraine-Russia war news, breaking news and live updates here.