Facebook has released a new feature that allows users to lock their profile so that people who are not on your Facebook friend list cannot see your details such as cover photo, profile picture, posts , etc A locked profile will show photos, posts, and other details only to people on your friends list. Additionally, you will not be able to download public posts and posts that were previously public will be made private once you lock your Facebook profile.
If you plan to lock your Facebook profile, you can do so from the browser or from the mobile application; however, the desktop version of Facebook does not include the “Lock” option, but there are other ways to do it. Here we have a complete guide to lock your Facebook profile, so read the story till the end.
How to Lock a Facebook Profile: Mobile App
- Open the Facebook app on your Android device and log in to your existing account.
- Select the “three dots” menu next to the “Add to Story” option.
- On the next page, you’ll see a summary of how a lock profile works and its benefits. You will need to select the “Lock your profile” option which is at the bottom of the screen.
- A pop-up window will appear on the screen stating that “you have locked your profile”. Click ‘OK’ to confirm and continue.
You have now successfully locked your Facebook profile and no longer have to worry about your privacy.
How to Lock Facebook Profile: Desktop
The company hasn’t provided a direct way to lock your Facebook profile from the browser, but there’s another way to do it if you’re not using the mobile app.
- Visit the official Facebook site on your desktop and log into your existing Facebook account.
- Now replace the ‘www’ in the profile URL with ‘m’. Now the URL will read as ‘m.facebook.com/yourprofilename’.
- This URL will take you to the mobile version of Facebook on your desktop and now you can see the “three dots” menu next to the “Edit Profile” option.
- You’ll see a ‘profile lock option’ when you go further down the ‘three dots’ menu.
- Similar to the mobile app, the next page will show you how a locked profile works. Click on the “Lock your profile” option and you will see a pop-up saying “you have locked your profile”.
For more information on the technology, subscribe to our YouTube channel if you haven’t already.