How to Lock Facebook Profile on Mobile and Web

While there are billions of users on Facebook, it has become more important to protect your personal information on the social network. Facebook offers several privacy and security tools to protect your account from prying eyes. One of these features is the ability to lock your Facebook profile. Here’s how you can use it.

By locking your Facebook account, you effectively eliminate any misuse of your uploaded photos and personal information. Without further ado, let us show you how to lock your Facebook profile on the web and mobile apps.

When should you lock your Facebook profile

When you think others are misusing your uploaded Facebook photos, you can lock your Facebook profile. The feature is also useful when you don’t want anyone sneaking into your profile to check your education, interests, mobile number, and even date of birth.

What Happens When You Lock Your Facebook Profile

You won’t notice any difference in your social media experience. But other people who are not on your friends list will no longer have access to certain information in your profile.

  • Strangers cannot see your uploaded messages and photos in your profile. Access remains exclusive to friends only. However, your profile information such as date of birth, location, relationship status, etc., is visible if its visibility is set to public.
  • Others can’t see your full profile photo and cover photo. Instead, they will get a low resolution thumbnail. This removes any possibility of misuse of your profile picture.
  • Your existing posts with public access will become friends only.
  • Only a small portion of your About information will be visible to strangers.
  • Only your friends can see your stories, posts, group posts, and other activities on Facebook.
  • You cannot share your new posts and photos with everyone. It will be limited to friends only.
  • Facebook will continue to recommend your profile in “People You May Know”

When someone tries to visit your Facebook profile, they can only see part of your information, a low resolution account photo and a cover image. Well, people can still send you a friend request or messages. So, only when you accept someone’s friend request can they see your full profile.

Lock Facebook Profile on Web

You can lock your Facebook profile from desktop version and iOS/Android mobile apps. We’ll cover Facebook’s web first, then move on to mobile platforms.

Step 1: Visit Facebook on the web and log in with your account details. Click the downward triangle in the upper right corner and choose your profile name from the menu.

2nd step: In the upper right corner of the text box, you will see the three vertical dots. Click on it.

Step 3: When a menu opens, select “Lock profile”.

You can quickly see the locked profile confirmation for your account. Check the blue padlock icon under the profile picture.

Lock Facebook profile on mobile

Facebook did not keep the lock profile feature exclusive to the web version. You can easily lock your profile from mobile apps. Here’s how.

Since Facebook iOS and Android apps are identical in user interface (UI), we will only use one platform (iOS) as an example.

Step 1: Open Facebook on your iPhone or Android.

2nd step: Tap the menu button with three vertical lines in the lower right corner.

Step 3: Select your profile at the top.

Step 4: Tap the three-dot menu next to the Edit profile button.

Step 5: Select Lock profile and confirm your decision.

Unlock your Facebook profile

If you change your mind in the future, you can easily unlock your Facebook profile and give everyone access to information.

Facebook website

Step 1: From the Facebook website, navigate to your profile (refer to the steps above).

2nd step: Click on the three-dot menu and select Unlock Profile.

Facebook for Android and iPhone

Step 1: Open the Facebook app and tap your profile picture in the top left corner to open your profile.

2nd step: Select the three vertical dots menu next to your Edit Profile button.

Step 3: Tap Unlock Profile and you’re good to go.

Manage your Facebook information

You should be careful when sharing sensitive information on social media. Some might take advantage of it and get you in trouble in the future. Use Facebook’s lockout feature and prevent unauthorized access to your account.