How to Lock Facebook Profile on Computer

Facebook is one of the most popular social networking sites used by millions of people around the world. By registering on Facebook, one can upload his photos, videos, post his status and connect with other Facebook users. However, the app continues to provide the utmost privacy to accounts. Three years ago, they launched the profile picture protection feature. Last year, they introduced a successor to the feature – Facebook profile lock.

The profile lock feature on Facebook adds an extra layer of security to the profile. The lock symbol that appears on someone’s profile is an indication of the locked profile. However, the ability to lock your Facebook profile is currently only available on the Facebook Android app, Facebook Lite for Android, and Facebook’s mobile website – m.facebook.com. The feature is not available on the Facebook app for iPhone or the desktop version of Facebook – Facebook.com.

However, there is a way to lock your Facebook profile from the desktop version. Do you want to know how? Follow the steps below.

How to Lock Facebook Profile on Computer

Steps to Lock Facebook Profile on Desktop Computer

Step 1: First, open any browser and visit facebook.com.

2nd step: Then login with Username and password.

Step 3: Now from your homepage, go to your profile page.

Step 4: On the new screen, click on the search bar.

Step 5: You will see– URL– https://www.facebook.com/profile…

Step 6: To delete www. and add Mr.

To note: You will get—URL– https://m.facebook.com/profile…

Step 7: Click on Enter, you will see a mobile version of Facebook.

Step 8: On the new screen, click Menu (three dots)

Step 9: Now from the given options click on Lock the profile and confirm.

What happens after someone locks their profile?

Only friends will be able to see the following:

  • Photos and posts on their timeline.
  • Your full-size profile photo or your cover photo.
  • Your stories.
  • New posts and photos.
  • Any posts shared in the past with the public will become friends.
  • Timeline review and tag review will be enabled.
  • Only a small part of the information on will be visible to everyone on the profile.

By locking the Facebook profile, you can ensure that other people cannot zoom into your profile. Only your friends can see your posts. You cannot post to the public when your profile is locked.

READ | How to Automatically Save Photos and Videos to Facebook Messenger: Everything You Need to Know

READ | How to change your Facebook password with Android: step by step guide

READ | How to Create Your Own Facebook Avatar: Step-by-Step Guide