How to Appoint a Facebook Profile Executor for After Death

(Pocket-lint) – Thinking about your digital legacy after you die is something most people are starting to do, morbid as that may seem.

Facebook is one of the few services available that has an established method of account management in the event of a user’s death, although Apple also offers it. The idea is that a Facebook user can define a sort of enforcer, officially known as a legacy contact, who will have limited access to their account. This will allow them to link the account and leave it there as a memorial of the person’s life.

So how do you prepare your account for that inevitable day? And what will happen when he’s ready to go? Here’s what you need to know.

Plush pocket

What happens to your Facebook after death?

Your Facebook account may be deleted after death, or it may be memorialized with a former contact named as the account manager.

Memorize your account

A memorial Facebook account displays the word “Remembering” next to the person’s name on their profile. Depending on the account’s privacy settings, friends can still share memories on the memorial profile, and content the person shared remains visible to the audience it was originally shared with. More importantly, no one can log into a memorial account, and without a legacy contact, it cannot be changed.

What is an old Facebook contact?

A Legacy Contact is someone you can choose to manage your account if they are commemorated. They must be 18 or older and a Facebook user.

If you add a former contact, they can:

  1. Write a pinned post for your profile, like sharing a final post on your behalf.
  2. View posts, even if you’ve set your privacy to Me only.
  3. Decide who can see and post tributes, if the account has an area for tributes.
  4. Delete tribute messages.
  5. Change who can see posts you’re tagged in.
  6. Remove tags of you that someone else has posted.
  7. Respond to new friend requests, like old family members who weren’t on Facebook yet.
  8. Update your profile photo and cover photo.
  9. Request deletion of your account.
  10. Disable the requirement to review posts and tags before they appear in the tributes section if you have timeline review enabled.
  11. Download a copy of what you’ve shared on Facebook if this feature is enabled.

Thus, by choosing a person to have access to your Facebook account after his death, you do not leave him your deepest secrets. Access is limited.

If you add a former contact, they cannot:

  1. Sign into your account.
  2. Read your posts.
  3. Remove one of your friends or make new friend requests.
UnsplashFacebook legacy contact How to name a profile executor after death image 2

How to name an old Facebook contact

You can add or remove a previous contact in your account settings at any time.

To add a previous contact:

  1. Click it drop down arrow at the top right of Facebook and click Settings.
  2. To select Settings and Privacythen click Settings.
  3. Click on Memorization parameters.
  4. Type a friend’s name in Choose a friend and click To add.
  5. To let your friend know that they are now your old contact, click To send.

To note: To edit or delete an old contact, follow steps 1-2 above, then click Delete. From there, you can add a new legacy contact if you want.

Malwarebytes APPLICATIONS Q1 22

Get Malwarebytes Premium today to go beyond antivirus and stop worrying about online threats. Available on Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, and Chrome, Malwarebytes secures your devices, files, and privacy 24/7. Real-time protection uses artificial intelligence and machine learning to protect you from online threats, even emerging threats no one has ever seen before. Malwarebytes effortlessly crushes adware and potentially unwanted programs that slow down your devices. The all-in-one Cyber ​​Protection Dashboard highlights your real-time security status, so you’re not kept up to date with what’s happening with your devices. Start protecting your devices today with Malwarebytes.

Written by Maggie Tillman. Editing by Britta O’Boyle.