Facebook Account: How to Make Facebook Profile Private on Android, iOS and Laptop/PC

Unknown users surprise you on Facebook? You can prevent this from happening by making your account on the social networking platform private. Facebook allows users to hide their accounts from people they don’t know or from certain people on their contact list. Making your Facebook account private will not show your profile information such as contact information, date of birth, and relationship status, as well as posts and stories to others. There are up to four privacy options, namely Friends, Friends Except…, Specific Friends, and Only Me. Here’s what each option does and how you can use them to make Facebook private on Android, iOS, and laptop/PC.

Facebook privacy options

There are no privacy options enabled on the default Facebook account. This means that all of your information will be publicly available for anyone to see. However, it can be replaced by one of the privacy options mentioned below:

  • Friends: With this option, only your Facebook friends will be able to see what you post
  • Friends except: If you want to hide your messages from some toxic friends, you can use this option. Select the friends you want to hide your messages from and press ok
  • Specific friends: Only the specific list of friends you choose will be able to see messages, not your entire Facebook friend list
  • Just me: This means that other than you, no one else can see the message.

How to make your Facebook private on Android/iPhone mobile

Facebook has fragmented the entire privacy section, and now you can disable exactly what content you want to see by whom on your feed. Let’s start with the privacy verification options:

  • Open the Facebook app on your phone
  • Tap the hamburger menu. Depending on your phone, it will be in the top right or bottom right of your screen.
  • Now tap on Privacy Control (if you don’t see it, search for it in the search bar above)
  • You can now control most aspects of your account from here
  • Tap “Who can see what you share”, then “Continue”
  • From here, you can select who you want to share your phone number, email, birthday, address, education info, and friends list with.
  • Tap the drop-down options on the right and choose the privacy setting that best suits your needs. Then press Next basically.
  • Now tap the drop-down options on the right to select who can see the content you post. (You can also select “Limit” to change privacy settings for previous posts) and tap Next
  • Finally, you can block other users who annoy you with spam and posts.

With Privacy Checkup, the majority of things are taken care of, but if you want even more privacy for your account, the following steps allow you to make things other than your posts and contact details private:

  • Open the Facebook app
  • Tap the hamburger menu. Depending on your phone, it will be in the top right or bottom right of your screen.
  • Scroll down and tap on “Settings and privacy”
  • Tap the “Settings” tab.
  • In the “Audience and visibility” section, click on the different options on the right to update each one. For example, if you click “Edit” next to contact information, you can choose what other people see.
  • If you want to make your messages private, tap “Messages”. Similarly, you can set various other parameters as per your requirement.

How to Make Facebook Account Private on Laptop/PC

You can also make your Facebook account private on your laptop/PC. Here’s how:

  • Access the Facebook.com website through any browser and log in with your account
  • Now click/tap on your profile picture in the top right corner
  • Click/tap “Settings & Privacy”
  • Now click/tap on ‘Privacy Verification’
  • You can now control most aspects of your account from here
  • Click/tap “Who can see what you share” and tap “Continue”
  • From here, you can select who you want to share your phone number, email, birthday, address, education info, and friends list with.
  • Click/tap on the bubble options on the right and choose the privacy setting that best suits your needs. Then press Next basically.
  • Now click/tap on the bubble options on the right to select who can see the content you post. (You can also select “Limit” to change the privacy settings of previous messages) and click Next
  • Finally, you can block other users who annoy you with spam and posts.

With Privacy Checkup, the majority of things are taken care of, but if you want even more privacy for your account, follow these steps:

  • Access the Facebook.com website through any browser and log in with your account
  • Now click/tap on your profile picture in the top right corner
  • Click/tap “Settings & Privacy”
  • Now click/tap on “Settings”
  • Now in the left pane scroll down and click/tap on “Privacy”
  • Now on the center, you can now control various aspects of your account about your activity, how people can find and contact you, and how you receive message requests.

FAQs

How to know if Facebook profile is private

It’s pretty easy to find out if your profile is private. Just call one of your friends and ask them if they can see something while looking for you. Your profile must have a padlock indicating that this profile is private.

How to make Facebook page private

It is quite easy to make your page private:

  • Access the Facebook.com website through any browser and log in with your account
  • Now click/tap on the menu and tap on “Pages”
  • Now tap on your page
  • On the left side, scroll down and click/tap “Settings”
  • Now on the right side, at the top, click/tap on edit near “page visibility”
  • Now select “unpublished page” and click/tap save changes
  • From now on, your page will be private and will only be accessible to you and the person who has a role on this page

    How to Make Photos Private on Facebook

    Here’s how you can make your photos private on Facebook:

    • On your smartphone, open the Facebook application
    • Now tap on your profile and scroll down until you see photos under the messages section
    • Now swipe to uploads and select the photo you want it to be hidden
    • Now, at the top right of the image, tap on the three-dot menu
    • Now tap on Change Privacy
    • You can now configure the post to be seen in public or only by you.