DVIDS – News – How to maximize the privacy settings on your Facebook profile

Editor’s Note: This article was originally published in November 2015 by Priscilla Rey.

_____________

GRAFENWOEHR, Germany — In a survey conducted by the Pew Research Center, Facebook remains by far the most popular social media site. As a military member, and for military family members, it is more important than ever to remain vigilant about operational security (OPSEC).

Sharing information on your Facebook timeline may seem harmless, but it can be dangerous for loved ones and fellow soldiers.

Never accept a friend request from someone you don’t know, even if they know a friend of yours. Do not share information that you do not wish to be made public. Someone could target you for working in the DOD, so be careful when listing your job, military organization, training, and contact information. Providing too much information in your profile can expose you to people who want to steal your identity or sensitive operational information.

Understanding what you can and can’t post on Facebook goes a long way to protecting yourself online, but you can do more by adjusting your privacy settings.

There are many ways to protect your privacy on Facebook, and many people don’t realize that most information is available to everyone. We’ve researched how to set your settings to the highest security level.

Here to set the highest security settings on your Facebook profile.

Choose who sees your Facebook posts

1. Log in to Facebook and go to Settings, Privacy.

2. Topics: who can see my content? who can contact me? Who can search for me?

3. Choose Only me or Only friends to maximize the security of your page. This prevents other people from seeing your posts.

4. Under Who can search me?, Facebook asks you, “Do you want other search engines to link to your timeline?” Don’t let other search engines link to your timeline.

Maximize your timeline privacy, prevent tagging

1. When posting images to your timeline, you can change the settings of who can see, comment or add things. You can also control who is allowed to post on your timeline.

2. Log in to Facebook and go to Settings, Timeline, and Tagging.

3. Who can add things to my timeline? Who can see things on my news feed? How can I manage the tags people add?

4. The best thing to do is limit the visibility to only you or your friends only. Don’t let friends of friends post or comment on your photos. Keep this as private as possible.

5. When you’re tagged in a post, it means someone has linked to your profile. You can turn on tag review to review tags your friends add to your content before they appear on Facebook. In the How do I manage user-added tags and tag suggestions? section, click edit and change the settings to enabled.

Your profile picture

1. A recent Facebook update lets you change the size of your profile picture. It also allows you to make the image private and not clickable.

2. Using Photoshop, Microsoft Paint or other photo editing software, change the image size to 180 x 180 pixels. Save it and use it as your profile picture on Facebook.

3. Once uploaded, click on your profile picture and select Edit.

4. Click the Public drop-down menu and choose Me only.

Geolocation

1. Geotagging is the process of adding geographic identification to photographs, videos, websites, and SMS messages. It’s the equivalent of adding a 10-digit grid coordinate to anything displayed on the internet. You can prevent Facebook from sharing your location.

2. Geolocation is usually done automatically on your tablet or mobile phone. When you first installed Facebook on your tablet or mobile phone, it probably asked for your permission to use your phone’s location services so that it could “register” in different places and tag photos with tags. location information. Revoke this permission in the location services settings area of ​​your phone.

3. There are also applications to remove your geolocation. Koredoko, deGeo (iPhone) or Photo Privacy Editor (Android) are just a few.

4. If you post to Facebook, you can see a description of the location in light gray in the lower left corner of the status area. Always check if the location is displayed. If so, remove it. Simply hover your cursor or finger over the location and click the X.

The Army Social Media Handbook provides great information on safe networking and how to register your unit’s site. It also gives you advice on Army branding standards and provides Facebook reference guides. It is available at www.us.army.mil/suite/doc/43167236 (AKO login required) or www.slideshare.net/usarmysocialmedia (login blocked on government computers).

Always remember: Think before you post. Be careful.







Date taken: 20.11.2015
Date posted: 07.06.2022 09:14
Story ID: 424398
Location: GRAFENWOEHR, BY, DE






Web views: 2
Downloads: 0

PUBLIC DOMAIN